You are here: Home - Household Bills - News -

Arrivals to the UK from South America banned

Written by:
A ban on arrivals from South America as well as Portugal will be implemented tomorrow following concern over a new Brazilian variant of coronavirus.

The secretary of state for transport, Grant Shapps, has announced a ban on arrivals from South America, including:

  • Argentina
  • Brazil
  • Bolivia
  • Cape Verde
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • French Guiana
  • Guyana
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuala.

The UK-inbound travel ban takes effect from 4am Friday 15 January and comes after concerns have been sparked over a new variant of coronavirus in Brazil.

Shapps added that travel from Portugal to the UK will also be suspended “given its strong travel links with Brazil”.

Hauliers travelling from Portugal are exempt to allow the transport of essential goods.

It also doesn’t apply to British and Irish nationals and foreign nationals with residence rights.

However, Shapps said passengers returning from these destinations must self-isolate for 10 days along with their households.

The travel ban comes after the government confirmed arrivals will need to show a negative test before entering the UK in a bid to protect against the new strains circulating internationally.

This measure takes effect from 4am on Monday 18 January.

There are 0 Comment(s)

If you wish to comment without signing in, click your cursor in the top box and tick the 'Sign in as a guest' box at the bottom.

Your right to a refund if travel is affected by train strikes

There have been a wave of train strikes in the past six months, and the fresh round of walkouts take place tod...

Could you save money with a social broadband tariff?

Two-thirds of low-income households are unaware they could be saving on broadband, according to Uswitch.

How to help others and donate to food banks this winter

This winter is expected to be the most challenging yet for the food bank network as soaring costs push more pe...

What will happen if rates change

How your finances will be impacted by a rise in interest rates.

Regular Savings Calculator

Small regular contributions can build up nicely over time.

Online Savings Calculator

Work out how your online savings can build over time.

DIY investors: 10 common mistakes to avoid

For those without the help and experience of an adviser, here are 10 common DIY investor mistakes to avoid.

Mortgage down-valuations: Tips to avoid pulling out of a house sale

Down-valuations are on the rise. So, what does it mean for home buyers, and what can you do?

Five tips for surviving a bear market mauling

The S&P 500 has slipped into bear market territory and for UK investors, the FTSE 250 is also on the edge. Her...

Money Tips of the Week