You are here: Home - Insurance - News -

Travelers poised to find out which countries make the ‘green list’

Written by: Emma Lunn
Holidaymakers in England will find out which countries they can visit without quarantining on their return later this afternoon.

Transport secretary Grant Shapps is announcing which countries will be on the government’s green list at 5pm today. The list is expected to be quite short initially with Gibraltar, Portugal, Malta and Israel rumoured to be classified as green.

Decisions will be based on the number of Covid-19 cases in a country and the success of vaccine rollouts. At the moment, the UK has fewer cases and a higher rate of vaccinations than many popular destinations.

The green list announcement is expected to prompt a surge in holiday bookings, with international travel due to be allowed from 17 May.

The government announced last month that countries will be placed into different colour bands through a new ‘traffic light’ system for international travel.

Under the traffic light system, countries will be placed in one of three colour categories: red, amber and green.

Green is the safest category, and will mean that travellers don’t need to self-isolate on returning to England. But they will still be required to carry out Covid tests before heading off on the trip and after arriving at their destination.

Travellers to ‘amber’ countries will need to take a private Covid test in their holiday destination, before returning to England. They will also need to fill in a passenger locator form online before leaving their destination, and self-isolate at home for 10 days when they arrive back in England.

They will also need to take a private PCR test on or before day two of their arrival in England and again on day eight.

Travellers arriving from ‘red list’ countries will need to stay in hotel quarantine for 10 days when they arrive in England.

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have different rules for international travel.

There are 0 Comment(s)

If you wish to comment without signing in, click your cursor in the top box and tick the 'Sign in as a guest' box at the bottom.

Flight cancelled or delayed? Your rights explained

With no sign of the problems in UK aviation easing over the peak summer period, many will worry whether holida...

Rail strikes: Your travel and refund rights

Thousands of railway workers will strike across three days this week, grinding much of the transport system to...

How your monthly bills could rise as the base rate reaches 1.25%

The Bank of England has raised the base rate to 1.25% as predicted – the fifth consecutive rise in just six ...

What will happen if rates change

How your finances will be impacted by a rise in interest rates.

Regular Savings Calculator

Small regular contributions can build up nicely over time.

Online Savings Calculator

Work out how your online savings can build over time.

DIY investors: 10 common mistakes to avoid

For those without the help and experience of an adviser, here are 10 common DIY investor mistakes to avoid.

Mortgage down-valuations: Tips to avoid pulling out of a house sale

Down-valuations are on the rise. So, what does it mean for home buyers, and what can you do?

Five tips for surviving a bear market mauling

The S&P 500 has slipped into bear market territory and for UK investors, the FTSE 250 is also on the edge. Her...

Money Tips of the Week